I Never Think of the Future. It Comes Soon Enough


concert for four voices, with video projection and intervention on the ground

Train Station, Zug, Switzerland







Valentina Vetturi continues her work, initiated in 2015, on the current debate about Internet technologies and their impact on society with I Never Think Of The Future. It Comes Soon Enough .

Four green symbols glow on the ground in the main hall of Zug train station – they compose a code that programmers can read and use, but not machines. On the opposite side, a video shows automatically generated html messages, constantly changing. The rhythm is broken by the occasional appearance of enigmatic sentences about entropy, coding and visions of the future.


entropy in my eyes 23



At the same time, four performers occupy the space where the green symbols lie and give voices to fragmentary messages. The messages are excerpts of a book  (“In The Corridor of Cyberspace“, 2016) that the artist dedicated to the “Cypherpunk mailing list”. One of the first web forums created by a group of researchers, activists and libertarians from 1992 to the millennium to allow a virtual discussion on privacy, freedom of expression, cryptography, digital money and its impact on society.

The amplified voices of the performers compose a spoken symphony. Through silence, crescendo, and diminuendo, the complex reflections that fuelled the mailing lists resonate with today’s mainstream discussion on Internet technologies, AI and their implications.














I Never Think Of The Future. It Comes Soon Enough premiered in the main hall of Zug Train Station the 9th of November 2018 from 7pm to 9pm as part of Illuminate Light and Art Festival.


Performers: Benjamin Frey, Simone Lüscher, Thekla Molnar, Silja Nidecker

Video animation: Roberto Matarrese

Photo and video documentation: EduMarFilm


The artist would like to thank: the members of the cypherpunk mailing list, the hackers and thinkers who shared their knowledge and stories. As well as Andres Bosshard and Karen Geyer leaders of the Sound Study Group at ZHdK, Marco Angius, Alan Bogana, Florian Graf, Armando Perna, Laura Estrada Prada, Roberto Ricco, Roberto Vetturi. A special thank you to Carole Kambli, Davide and Nikolaus Kulcke for their warm hospitality.